Posts Tagged ‘Wodensthrone’

CANDLELIGHT CULT SERIES: Returns This Autumn; Wodensthrone, Reverence, Khors

Candlelight Records brings back its popular cult series this autumn with new releases from Wodensthrone, Reverence, and Khors. Set to hit North American stores on September 11, the recordings follow earlier European release dates. The label is streaming select songs from each of the records at its official Facebook page now.

Supporting a growing worldwide audience that initially began with their 2009 debut, Loss, Wodensthrone return with their latest album, Curse. “Curse is tense, pummeling and beautiful in all the right ways,” says Sputnik Music. Under the watchful eye of Esoteric’s Greg Chandler, who helped take the band’s performance and sound to a whole new level of majesty and mastery, Curse proves that Wodensthrone’s metal is one of the UK’s finest exports. Metal Review notes, “they share a bit of Wolves in the Throne Room’s compositional style, Drudkh’s obsessive-yet-unpretentious attention to detail, Weakling’s aggression, Blut Aus Nord’s appropriate use of keyboards, and Negura Bunget’s love of folk instrumentation.” Running track listing for Curse is: 1. The Remaining Few, 2. Jormungandr, 3. First Light, 4. The Great Darkness, 5. Battle Lines, 6. Wyrgthu, 7. The Storm, 8. The Name Of The Wind.

French industrial black metallists Reverence deliver their first proper release to North American audiences. No Clean Singing says, “between the crippling insanity of The Axis Of Perdition and the warped humanism of Glorior Belli, Reverence successfully fuse the angular chaos of the former with the darkness of the latter. Their latest release takes pride of place alongside the arcane experimentation of Blut Aus Nord and the ritualistic self loathing of Deathspell Omega.” says, “The Asthenic Ascension is a record of fury and immediacy. It is cold and merciless and worthy of your time.” Running track listing for The Asthenic Ascension is: 1. Earth, 2. Darwin’s Black Hall, 3. The Descent, 4. Psalm IV, 5. Ghost of Dust, 6. Cold Room, 7. Genesis of Everything, 8. Those Who Believed, 9. The Asthenic Ascension.

Featuring former members of Hate Forest, Tessaract, and Drudkh, Ukraine’s Khors present their fifth full-length album. The dense sound of Wisdom of Centuries is enhanced by the use of various ethnic instruments and is the first performed in the band’s native tongue. says, “Khors is steadily becoming a force in the atmospheric black metal scene.” Noisecreep comments, “roll over Scandinavia, there’s a new wave of black metal pouring like molten lava from the forests, fields and frozen wastelands.” Running track listing for Wisdom of Centuries is: 1. Through the Clouds of the Past, 2. Black Forest’s Flaming Eyes, 3. The Last Leaves, 4. Where the Grandeur of Mountains Embraces the Space, 5. Horizons Glassy, 6. Wisdom of Centuries, 7. Only Time Will Take It Away, 8. Twilight.

Watch for more artists to come later this year via Candlelight’s Cult Series including Kontinuum, Zatokrev, and Nine Covens.


CANDLELIGHT: Sampler Available For Free Via Amazon Starting Today

Candlelight Records today launches a free label sampler available exclusively from The 8-song sampler includes previously unreleased material from Falloch, The Rotted, Wodensthrone, Sear Bliss, Woe, Winterfylleth, Rumpelstiltskin Grinder and includes the first single from Ihsahn’s new album Eremita.

“The Paranoid” is taken from Ihsahn’s anticipated fourth solo album. Set for release June 19, Eremita was mixed by Jens Bogren (Opeth) and features performances from drummer Tobias Ornes Andersen (Leprous), saxophonist Jorgen Munkeby (Shining-Norway), guitarist Jeff Loomis (ex-Nevermore), and vocalists Devin Townsend, Einar Solberg (Leprous), and Heidi S. Tveitan (StarofAsh). Metal Sucks editor Vince Neilstein says, “The Paranoid” is a perfect introduction to Eremita. It’s heavy, expansive, and it’s complex without being an asshole about it. Not that any of this should be surprising; Ihsahn’s been developing his own singularly definable sound for three albums now, so fans should know what to expect.”

The inclusion of an early production mix of Rumpelstiltskin Grinder’s “F*cking Wild” follows the recent announcement of the band’s forthcoming new album, Ghostmaker. The Philadelphia-based quartet recently completed a string of regional performances and are now gearing up for dates to support the new album once it hits stores nationwide on June 19. Guitarist Ryan Moll says, “the title of this track says it all. It’s a rather suiting description of its relentlessness. The lyrics were written by Shawn (Riley) and the title was inspired by some old live Venom recordings.”

Falloch’s “The Ghosts That Haunts This Path” is a new song for American audiences. Previously available as a b-side to a European-only single, the song showcases the impressive stylings of the Scottish post-black metal duo. MSN Metal called the band’s debut Where Distant Spirits Remain, “a drop-dead gorgeous, haunting piece of work.” Kerrang called it, “intoxicating, haunting, beautiful.” Brooklyn Vegan adds, “it’s clear that Falloch aims to walk along the righteous path of adventurous black metal bands like Alcest. Where Distant Spirits Remain is a great first step in that direction.”

Planning to hit the studio in early June to lay down tracks for their third album, Woe’s reworked “Quietly, Undramatically” opens a new door on the title track from the band’s popular 2010 release of the same name. Vocalist/guitarist Chris Grigg notes, “the remixed version of ‘Quietly, Undramatically’ is a more accurate representation of what was hoped to achieve with the material and offers a different perspective into the album.” Decibel Magazine said, “Woe strive for sophistication without falling into the usual pitfalls of pretentiousness, cartoonish-ness or undue gloss. Essential aggression is maintained, while the atmospheric and emotional depth envelopes are pushed with a bold fearlessness.”

To listen/download the sampler visit HERE.